In Honor of World Kindness Day

Happy Monday! I woke up to find out that today is World Kindness Day. It is sad that we have to celebrate something so basic, so simple. However, I’m glad we are highlighting this simple task. Being kind is something everyone can participate in. It is free. It takes relatively no effort and requires no preparation.

Yesterday, I noticed that my 11-year-old grandson held the door for an older couple when we were entering a restaurant for breakfast. No one prompted him. As he was entering the restaurant he noticed the couple and the gentleman was having difficulty exiting his car. B stepped back and held the door while the couple move slowly toward the entrance. I was beaming and so proud. While neither he nor I know today was World Kindness Day, I’m glad B is choosing to practice kindness every day.

My motivation for you today is to be kind to someone today…..and each day this week. Open the door, say thank you to a server, bring someone a cup of coffee, or purchase their meal. Even something as simple as a smile or a wave can make someone’s day. You never know when that person may just need a little extra kindness to face the task ahead.

Wishing you a wonderful, kind week…

Until next time…

Leave a comment